Washington State Laws
Frequently Asked About Laws
You must apply in person at a local law enforcement office.
If You’re Moving to Washington
RCW 9.41.073(1) (b) requires someone must be a resident of Washington in order to get a state concealed pistol license and continue carrying a concealed weapon. To apply for a Washington concealed pistol permit, you need to apply in person at the local law enforcement agency of your Washington residence address.
If You’re Visiting Washington
Visitors 18 years or older who are passing through the can transport a handgun in a vehicle without a concealed pistol license if:
• the handgun is unloaded at all times
• the unloaded handgun is in a secured and closed opaque case, and/or
• the unloaded handgun is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view when the vehicle is unattended
Can I Open Carry in Washington State?
RCW 9.41.270 addresses what can happen if you openly carry a firearm. Please refer to the statute for further information and limitations.
How to Register Your Firearm
The Washington Department of Licensing acts solely as a record keeper of issued licenses that have been approved by local law enforcement and has a limited role with regard to firearms licenses. You can find useful information on concealed pistol licenses, firearms dealer licenses, alien firearms licenses, fees, forms, trainings and other topics which may answer the question you have on their website.
For a full list of laws regarding firearms, please see the Washington State Legislature website.
Recreational use of marijuana has been legal for those 21 years or older in Washington State since 2012. However, there are still a number of restrictions that should be reviewed before use. You can also find more information on the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board’s webpage.
• Age Limit – Only adults age 21 and older can purchase and possess marijuana.
• Purchase Limits – Adults age 21 and over can purchase up to one ounce of useable marijuana (the harvested flowers, or “bud”), 16 ounces of marijuana-infused edibles in solid form, 72 ounces in liquid form, and 7 grams of marijuana concentrates.
• Public Use – It is illegal to consume marijuana in view of the public.
• Driving – It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana if you have more than 5 nanograms of active THC per milliliter of blood.
• Travel – It is illegal to take marijuana outside of Washington.
The Washington State Patrol enforces driver and vehicle license rules set by the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL). For more information or questions relating to obtaining a driver license, vehicle license, business license, commercial driver license, or motorcycle endorsements, please visit DOL’s website.