
FIRE PROTECTION BUREAU 
EDUCATION, ENFORCEMENT, AND ANALYTICS SECTION 

PO Box 42642 
Olympia WA 98504-2642 

(360) 596-3946   FAX:  (360) 596-3934
Fireworks@wsp.wa.gov

3000-420-137 (R 4/21) DO NOT RETURN 

REVISED CODE OF WASHINGTON 70.77 
THE FIREWORKS LAW 

LICENSED WHOLESALER APPLYING FOR 
FIREWORKS RETAILER LICENSES 

EACH LICENSE WILL ONLY BE VALID FOR THE OPERATION OF A 
SINGLE CONSUMER FIREWORKS RETAIL SALES (CFRS) FACILITY 

WITHIN THE STATE OF WASHINGTON.  THEY CANNOT BE USED FOR 
ANY OTHER PURPOSE AND EACH INDIVIDUAL RETAIL SALES 

LOCATION REQUIRES ITS OWN FIREWORKS RETAILER LICENSE. 

PLEASE READ ALL ASSOCIATED INSTRUCTIONS 
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This document is used ONLY by currently Licensed Fireworks Wholesalers applying for Fireworks Retailer Licenses 
in order to operate Consumer Fireworks Retail Sales (CFRS) Facilities within the state of Washington.  To obtain 
this license, you will need to: 

1) READ ALL OF THESE INSTRUCTIONS AND THE PROVIDED PROVISIONS COMPLETELY AND RETAIN
ALL FOR FUTURE REFERENCE.

2) Be currently licensed as a Fireworks Wholesaler per Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 70.77.

3) Print legibly, complete electronically, or have it typed.  Illegible or incomplete applications will not be
accepted or processed.

4) Answer each line of this application leaving nothing blank.  Where a null or negative response is appropriate,
use “NO,” “NOT AVAILABLE,” “DOES NOT APPLY,” or other clarifying statements.

5) Indicate how many licenses you wish to purchase and for which counties specifically.  Be sure to total this
number at the bottom of the form to accurately calculate the amount that must be included to cover the
licensing fees as prescribed by law.

Example: Two (2) licenses in Thurston County and five (5) licenses in Pierce County will total seven (7)
licenses, which has a total annual licensing fee of $280.00 (7 licenses X $40.00).

6) Be sure of your numbers in this calculation, as any submission where the total number of licenses and fees
paid do not match are summarily rejected without processing of any kind.

7) ALL applications for a Fireworks Retailer License MUST, by law, be signed by the applicant (licensee).

a. If signed by someone other than the contact person, their position with the wholesaler must be noted.
b. If signed by a partnership, all partners must sign with one (1) member as the contact person.
c. If signed by a corporation, it must be a corporate officer and bear the seal of the corporation.

8) While a valid post mark satisfactorily meets a statutory deadline, the licensing application windows are:

a. January 1 to May 1 for an Annual Sales (Independence and New Year’s) License.
b. August 1 to November 1 for a New Year’s Only Sales License.
c. Anything received at any other time will be rejected.  NO EXCEPTIONS.

9) Only return pages marked “MUST RETURN.”  Any additional and/or unnecessary pages included can
complicate and even delay the process.

10) Submit the completed licensing application, in its entirety, with the required licensing fees calculated to:

Physical Delivery Address Normal Mailing Address 
Fire Protection Bureau 
Education, Enforcement, and Analytics Section
PO Box 42642 
Olympia, WA 98504-2642 

Helen Sommers Building 
Fire Protection Bureau 
106 11th Avenue SW 
Olympia, WA 98501 

11) All valid applications are issued their license(s) within fifteen (15) working days of receipt.  This “clock” does
not start until the application is considered complete and error-free.  Anything awaiting correction after ten
(10) working days of inactivity is rejected and any fees paid are refunded.

INCOMPLETE/ILLEGIBLE SUBMISSIONS WILL BE DELAYED OR SUMMARILY REJECTED 

FIRE PROTECTION BUREAU 
EDUCATION, ENFORCEMENT, AND ANALYTICS SECTION 

PO Box 42642 
Olympia WA 98504-2642 

(360) 596-3946   FAX:  (360) 596-3934
Fireworks@wsp.wa.gov

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.77
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Provisions for a Wholesaler Obtaining a Retailers License to Maintain a CFRS Facility 

A. The licensed Wholesaler is the licensee for the Retailers License and the sole supplier for the
product to be sold within the stand.

B. The individual, company, or organization running a Wholesaler licensed CFRS Facility must have
signed agreements kept on file with the licensee.  This operator can be changed, but that data must
be not only placed upon the individual license before permitting, but retained as part of the licensing
file and reported to the Washington State Fire Marshal’s Office annually.

C. The information each Wholesaler must provide to the Washington State Fire Marshal’s Office on or
before July 19 for each and every Retailers License purchased must include:

a. Each Stand Number (SN) provided.
b. The Document Number (red, top right of each portion) on that license.
c. The name of the individual person who operated the stand.

(1) What organization they represented, if applicable.
(2) Whether or not they were a legal Non-Profit entity.

d. The phone number of the individual person who operated the stand.
(1) E-mail, if they have one.

e. Date they agreed through signed documentation to operate their stand.
(1) A copy of this agreement is NOT required to be submitted, but must be available for

inspection/review by this office as a matter of the licensing record.

There is no specific template required for submitting this information.  However, it must be clear, 
legible, easy to understand, complete for each license purchased, and submitted only once as a 
single completed record for the entire licensing year.  This can be sent digitally to 
fireworks@wsp.wa.gov but DO NOT send piecemeal or incomplete records. 

Please note records pertaining specifically to New Year’s Only sales licenses can be submitted 
separately or even as an update on or before January 19 of the subsequent year of issue. 

D. For any licenses not used – for whatever reason – provide that information as part of the licensing
record submission noted above.

E. All records concerning the use of this license, including all sales and purchases, are subject to
review at any time.  Keep all records associated with the operation of your CFRS Facility for at least
three (3) years.

F. Failure to maintain these records properly, submit the annual licensing records in a timely manner, or
to produce any required record can result in penalties including revocation, denial of any future
licensing, and civil penalties such as fines.

G. Retailer Licenses issued to a Licensed Wholesaler must still comply with any and all provisions of
law, rule, and local ordinance as any other Retailers License and a CFRS Facility.

H. Licensing is non-transferrable by law.  Changes to the county of operation are allowed and just
require the original being returned with an indication of the change.

FIRE PROTECTION BUREAU 
EDUCATION, ENFORCEMENT, AND ANALYTICS SECTION 

PO Box 42642 
Olympia WA 98504-2642 

(360) 596-3946   FAX:  (360) 596-3934
Fireworks@wsp.wa.gov

mailto:fireworks@wsp.wa.gov
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Provisions for a Fireworks Retailer Licensee Running a CFRS Facility 

A. ANYONE issued a Fireworks Retailer License is obligated to comply with Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
70.77, Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 212-17, and any and all local ordinances for the jurisdiction
where you will operate your CFRS Facility.  Also note your CFRS Facility MUST meet the requirements found
within WAC 212-17.

B. Operating a CFRS Facility within the state of Washington requires a Fireworks Retailer License from the State
Fire Marshal AND a permit from the local fire code authority.  NO EXCEPTIONS.

C. Securing a Fireworks Retailer License does not guarantee a local permit.  Be sure the jurisdiction for your
CFRS Facility allows fireworks sales and what their permitting deadlines are before applying for this license.

D. This license is only valid for retail sales of state legal consumer fireworks at a single CFRS Facility at a single
location during the legally designated sales seasons.  It will not be issued for any other reason and does not
allow for any other use.

E. All records concerning the use of this license, including all sales and purchases, are subject to review.  Keep
all records associated with the operation of your CFRS Facility for at least three (3) years.

F. Every Fireworks Retailer License is comprised of three sections.  One is posted in your CFRS Facility, the
second portion goes to your fireworks supplier (a licensed wholesaler), and the third and final piece goes to
the local fire code authority in their permit application process.  Each part is clearly labeled and you are
responsible for separating these pieces cleanly and correctly.

G. Only a licensed fireworks wholesaler can supply your stand and they require the individualized wholesaler
license portion to do so.  When using multiple wholesalers, we will provide the additional portions at no cost.

H. Only State Legal Consumer Fireworks and holiday-related incidental items can be sold within a licensed CFRS
Facility and the list of State Legal Consumer Fireworks must be posted conspicuously.

I. Though non-transferrable, report any changes to the licensing information, such as location or supplier, to the
office immediately.  Depending on the change, the license may need to be returned and reissued.

J. The Independence Day Sales Season legally opens between June 28 and July 5.  However, the actual
consumer fireworks sales window can be restricted by local ordinance, so always verify the exact dates and
times sales are allowed where you wish to operate your CFRS Facility.

K. The law opens the New Year’s Sales Season between December 27 and December 31.  However, the actual
sales window may be restricted or even banned by local ordinance.  Verify the exact dates and times sales
are allowed where you wish to operate your CFRS Facility.

L. The application window for an Annual Sales License is January 1 through May 1 and is valid for both the
Independence Day Sales Season and the New Year’s Day Sales Season.

M. The application window for a New Year’s Sales Season Only License is August 1 through November 1.

N. When applying for a license, a valid post mark will be accepted in meeting these deadlines.  However, DO
NOT count on the post mark alone.  There is no exception to these application deadlines allowed by law.

O. Any deadline for a local permit is a local issue and independent of the statutorily mandated licensing
application deadlines.  Always be sure what you are applying for, with whom, and what their deadline is.

FIRE PROTECTION BUREAU 
EDUCATION, ENFORCEMENT, AND ANALYTICS SECTION 

PO Box 42642 
Olympia WA 98504-2642 

(360) 596-3946   FAX:  (360) 596-3934
Fireworks@wsp.wa.gov

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.77
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.77
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=212-17
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Date Received 

WHOLESALER OPERATED CFRS FACILITY LICENSING APPLICATION 
County Number of 

Licenses 
This application is for use by a currently licensed fireworks wholesaler seeking 

to operate consumer fireworks retail sales (CFRS) facilities.  This would 
specifically be in fireworks stands where the wholesaler maintains ownership of 
the fireworks and the group, person, or business operating the location is paid 

through an agreement, contract, employment, or other means. 
Adams 
Asotin 
Benton 
Chelan LICENSEE INFORMATION 
Clallam 

Name of Licensed Fireworks Wholesaler 

Wholesaler Contact Person 

Mailing Address 

Phone Number FAX Number 

E-Mail Address

Indicate to the left how many retailer licenses you wish to purchase in which 
specific counties.  Total the number of licenses below and include a check or 
money order to the Washington State Patrol Fire Protection Bureau (WSP FPB) 
for the required licensing fees of $40.00 per individual license with this form 
through one (1) of the following mailing options: 

1) Mailing Address of Education, Enforcement, and Analytics Section, 
Post Office Box 42642 in Olympia, WA 98504-2642.

2) Physical Address of the Helen Sommers Building at 106 11th Avenue 
SW in Olympia, WA 98501. 

Please note applications received between January 1 and May 1 will be 
processed for annual sales while applications received between August 1 and 
November 1 will be processed for New Year’s Sales only.  Postmarks are 
honored but applications received between May 2 and July 31 will be rejected. 

I, as the representative for the above-licensed wholesaler seeking 
retailer licensing, do hereby confirm we agree to abide by all 
requirements of the State’s Fireworks Law, RCW 70.77, the 
associated regulatory rules, WAC 212-17, and any and all local 
ordinance(s) regarding retail fireworks sales and storage within the 
jurisdiction we will operate a CFRS Facility. 

Date of Signature Signature of Licensee or Contact Person 

Clark 
Columbia 
Cowlitz 
Douglas 
Ferry 
Franklin 
Garfield 
Grant 
Grays Harbor 
Island 
Jefferson 
King 
Kitsap 
Kittitas 
Klickitat 
Lewis 
Lincoln 
Mason 
Okanogan 
Pacific 
Pend Oreille 
Pierce 
San Juan 
Skagit 
Skamania 
Snohomish 
Spokane 
Stevens 
Thurston 
Wahkiakum 
Walla Walla 
Whatcom 
Whitman 
Yakima 
Total Licenses 
Requested: 
3000-420-137 (R 4/21) 

X $40.00 each = Include This Amount 
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