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Landlord Rules Regarding Smoke Alarms 
 
Olympia – In 2020, 59 people lost their lives in residential fires in Washington State. Approximately 
72% of those fatalities occurred in homes without working smoke alarms. Some of these fatalities 
occurred in rental properties.   
 
The Washington State law clarifies requirements for landlords and tenants when it comes to installing 
and maintaining smoke alarms in rental properties. 
 
Under RCW 43.44.110 (3), landlords are required to provide working smoke alarms in a rental unit; 
however, tenants are required to maintain them.  
 
The Washington State Fire Marshal’s Office reminds landlords of the following requirements: 
 

• Installation of smoke detection devices in all sleeping rooms and hallways of the rental unit 
shall be the responsibility of the landlord. 

• At the time of a vacancy, the landlord shall ensure that the smoke detection devices are 
operational prior to the re-occupancy of the unit. 

 
Local jurisdictions may enforce and assess the following penalties: 

 

• Non-compliance shall be punished by a fine up to $200. 
• In homes that have been sold since July 1, 2019, the owner may be subject to a $5,000 fine if 

a fire occurs, resulting in damage, injury, or death to the tenant or their household, and no 
smoke alarm was present. 

 
For more information, contact the State Fire Marshal’s Office at (360) 596-3929. 

 
### 

***For Immediate Release***                                          

mailto:fpbpio@wsp.wa.gov
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=43.44.110

