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The Rules for Landlords Regarding Smoke Alarms 

 
 
Olympia – In 2019, 54 people were killed in residential fires in Washington State. Approximately 70% 
of those fatalities occurred in homes without working smoke alarms. Some of these fatalities occurred 
in rental properties.   
 
The Revised Code of Washington provides clarity on expectations for landlord and tenants when it 
comes to installing and maintaining smoke alarms in rental properties.  
 
RCW 43.44.110 states that landlords are required to provide working smoke alarms in a rental unit; 
however, tenants are required to maintain them.  
 
The Washington State Fire Marshal’s Office reminds landlords of the following requirements: 
 

• Installation of smoke detection devices in the sleeping rooms and hallways of the rental unit 
shall be the responsibility of the landlord. 

• At the time of a vacancy, the landlord shall insure that the smoke detection devices are 
operational prior to the re-occupancy of the unit. 

 
Local jurisdictions may enforce and assess the following penalties: 

 
• Non-compliance shall be punished by a fine of not more than $200. 
• If a fire occurs and results in damage injury or death to the tenant or their household, and no 

working smoke alarm was present, the landlord is subject to a $5,000 fine. 

***For Immediate Release***                                          
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For more information, call the State Fire Marshal’s Office at (360) 596-3929. 
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