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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Washington State Patrol 

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☒ 31 days after filing.

☐ Other (specify)  (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should 

be stated below)

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain: 

Purpose: The Washington State Patrol has proposed amendments to WAC 204-91A-120 Business office hours and records 
and WAC 204-91A-140 Fees.  The purpose of the proposal is to clarify existing language with the passage of SHB 1218 
(2017), the bill changed the starting time for calculation of storage fees and the time is charged in 15 minute increments and 
may not exceed an hour.. 

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:  
Repealed: 
Amended: 204-91A-120 and 204-91A-140 
Suspended:   

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 46.55.115, 46.55.063 

Other authority: 

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 20-03-145 on 01/20/2020 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: 

204-91A-120 5(d) removed “Time tow truck arrived at the scene”
204-91A-120 5(e) removed “Time tow truck departed the scene”

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name: 

Address: 

Phone: 

Fax: 

TTY: 

Email: 

Web site: 

Other: 
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Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Federal rules or standards:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Recently enacted state statutes:  New      Amended 2 Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted on the agency’s own initiative: 

New        Amended   Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New        Amended   Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Pilot rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Other alternative rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

 

Date Adopted: March 26, 2020 

 

Name: John R. Batiste 
 

Title: Chief 

Signature: 

 
 

 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 15-19-105, filed 9/18/15, effective 
10/19/15)

WAC 204-91A-120  Business office hours and records.  (1) Business 
hours will be in accordance with RCW 46.55.060(6). Businesses that 
close for an hour between 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. must:

(a) Designate the hour that they intend to use on a daily basis 
and notify the patrol of the designated hour annually at the time of 
inspection. The designated hour may be:

(i) Changed by providing notice to the patrol at least seventy-
two hours in advance. Electronic notification to the inspector will be 
considered an acceptable form of providing notice.

(ii) Adjusted the same day if a customer transaction occurs dur-
ing the designated hour or an emergent business need arises provided 
that:

(A) The adjusted time is taken between 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m.;
(B) The total amount of time the business office is closed does 

not exceed one hour; and
(C) Notice is provided:
(I) At the door regarding the return time with a telephone number 

at which personnel can be reached as required per RCW 46.55.060; and
(II) To the inspector electronically within twenty-four hours if 

adjusted for an emergent business need.
(b) Notify the public of the designated hour that they intend to 

be closed, which must be posted on the door with a telephone number at 
which personnel can be reached as required by RCW 46.55.060.

(c) Remain accessible to law enforcement or department of licens-
ing if they are in the process of performing an inspection or investi-
gation. Adjustments to the designated hour may be made if an investi-
gation or inspection occurs during the designated hour provided that:

(i) The adjusted time is taken between 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m.;
(ii) Notice is provided at the door regarding the return time 

with a telephone number at which personnel can be reached as required 
per RCW 46.55.060; and

(iii) The total amount of time the business office is closed does 
not exceed one hour.

(2) The owner/operator must have personnel at the place of busi-
ness during business hours to answer phone calls and to release vehi-
cles and personal property. Persons from adjoining or neighboring 
businesses may not be used to meet this requirement. Phones may not be 
forwarded to an answering service during normal business hours.

(3) When ((an)) a tow operator is not open for business and does 
not have personnel present at the place of business, the tow operator 
must post a clearly visible telephone number at the business location 
to advise the public how to make contact for the release of vehicles 
or personal property.

(4) The owner/operator must maintain personnel who must be:
(a) Available twenty-four hours a day to release impounded vehi-

cles within a sixty-minute period of time. If personnel are contacted 
during the hour the business has designated to be closed under subsec-
tion (1) of this section, personnel must:

(i) Log the time of the call;
(ii) Return to the business within no more than one-half hour;
(iii) Calculate the storage fees based on the time of the call. 

If the vehicle's legal or registered owner or the owner's authorized 
representative does not redeem the vehicle at the time the tow opera-
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tor returns to the business, the vehicle storage fees will accrue as 
if charges had not ceased at the time of the call.

(b) Identifiable as representing the company.
(5) All billing invoices must be numbered and must contain the 

following information:
(a) Business name, business address, and phone number.
(b) Date of service and tow truck ((operator's)) driver's first 

initial and last name.
(((b))) (c) Time of departure in response to the call.
(((c))) (d) Time tow truck arrived at the yard.
(e) Time ((service)) the vehicle is unloaded and the necessary 

and required paperwork is completed.
(((d))) (f) Class of tow truck used.
(((e))) (g) If the ((towing call is for)) tow was in response to 

a Washington state patrol request((, another police agency, a private 
impound, or the result of a private citizen request.

(f) All fees for service must be itemized)).
(((g))) (h) The date and time the vehicle was released.
(((6))) (i) The number of storage spaces used, and if more than 

one storage space is used, the size of vehicle as measured in feet 
from front bumper to rear bumper.

(6) All fees for service must be itemized on the invoice, includ-
ing each item of additional labor, ancillary equipment, or removal of 
debris, cargo, or other items.

(7) Yard cards containing the information in subsection (5) of 
this section may be used for internal control of vehicles by the tow 
operator until the vehicle is released, sold, or otherwise disposed 
of. Yard cards are supplemental to, and do not replace the invoice re-
quired above.

(((7))) (8) A copy of the invoice must be filed by invoice number 
at the business location and a copy of any voided invoice must be re-
tained in this same file. Another copy of the invoice must be included 
with the transaction file items identified in RCW 46.55.150.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 14-17-104, filed 8/19/14, effective 
9/19/14)

WAC 204-91A-140  Fees.  (1) Towing fees must be based on a flat, 
hourly rate only and will apply without regard to the hour of day, day 
of the week or whether the service was performed on a Saturday, Sun-
day, or state recognized holiday. The hourly rate for each class of 
truck must be charged for services performed for initial tows and sec-
ondary tows performed during business hours. Charges for secondary 
tows performed during nonbusiness hours, on weekends or state recog-
nized holidays, if different from the hourly rate, must be negotiated 
and agreed upon with the vehicle owner/agent before the tow is made.

The tow inspector will investigate allegations of overcharging. 
Intentional overcharging or a pattern of overcharging will be cause 
for suspension. The tow operator's failure to reimburse the aggrieved 
customer(s) may be cause for suspension, after a tow inspector has de-
termined that overcharging occurred and may result in the suspension 
or revocation of the tow operators letter of appointment. The suspen-
sion will remain in effect until the tow operator has presented to the 
patrol sufficient proof that the aggrieved customer(s) has been fully 
reimbursed.

(2) The chief or designee will, prior to October 15th of each 
year, establish maximum hourly towing rates for each class of tow 
truck and maximum daily storage rates that tow operators may charge 
for services performed as a result of state patrol calls. The maximum 
rates will be determined after consultation with members of the towing 
industry, review of current private towing rates, and such other eco-
nomic factors as the chief deems appropriate.

When signed by the chief or designee and the tow operator, a con-
tractual agreement to charge no more than the maximum rates will be-
come part of the operator's letter of appointment. The tow operator 
may, however, adopt a rate schedule charging less than the maximum 
rates established by the chief.

The hourly rate must:
(a) Apply when a call for a tow is made by the state patrol, ex-

cept as outlined under subsection (6) of this section. This includes, 
but may not be limited to, collisions and impound requests.

(b) Include all ancillary activities including, but not limited 
to, removal of glass, debris, and vehicle fluids less than one gallon 
from the roadway and areas referred to as the "scene or incident loca-
tion," necessary winching, dolly service, drive line removal, instal-
lation of chains on the tow truck, installation of portable lights, 
vehicle hookup for towing or transporting, tire replacement and stand-
by time. Before leaving any collision or incident location, the tow 
company must advise the department of transportation, the patrol, lo-
cal law enforcement road department of all fluid spills greater than 
one gallon remaining.

(c) Include the labor of one person per truck. When responding 
with a class "C" or an S-1 rotator truck to a major collision or inci-
dent location; a second person is allowed at the hourly labor rate per 
contract for an extra registered tow truck operator employee. Any 
charges for additional labor or ancillary vehicles, or both, or for 
removing debris, cargo, or other items at the collision or incident 
location must have prior authorization from the legal or registered 
owner/agent, or a member of the patrol at the scene, and must have 
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documentation in the vehicle transaction file for inspection purposes. 
Documentation must include:

(i) The first and last name of the person who requested the addi-
tional labor, ancillary vehicle, or removal of debris, cargo, or other 
items at the collision or incident location.

(ii) How and when the approval was obtained.
(d) Be computed from the actual time the truck departs in re-

sponse to a call until the truck returns to its tow zone, responds to 
another call, returns to the storage area, or returns to the place of 
business of the registered tow truck operator. Billing invoices must 
have the time of day and date a vehicle arrives at the storage area or 
place of business of the registered tow truck operator.

(i) The hourly rate must be applied to the resulting net time 
and, after the first hour, must be rounded to the nearest fifteen mi-
nutes. ((The operator may charge the hourly rate for the first hour or 
any fifteen minute portion thereof.))

(ii) After returning to the storage area, the tow operator may 
charge for the total amount of time in fifteen minute increments not 
to exceed a total of sixty minutes.

(e) Be evenly divided between customer vehicles transported when 
class "E" trucks are used for multiple towing/recovery services (one 
on bed, one in tow) from the same service call or incident location.

(3) The basic storage fee:
(a) Must be calculated using bumper to bumper measurements for 

vehicles, and using tongue to bumper measurements for trailers; and
(b) Must be calculated on a twenty-four-hour basis and must be 

charged to the nearest half day from the time the vehicle arrives at 
the secure storage area. Vehicles stored over twelve hours on any giv-
en day within the twenty-four-hour period may be charged a full day's 
storage. Vehicles stored less than twelve hours on any given day, may 
only be charged for twelve hours of storage; and

(c) Must be the same for all three and four-wheel vehicles twenty 
feet or less in length; and

(d) For vehicles or combinations exceeding twenty feet, the stor-
age fee must be computed by multiplying each twenty feet of vehicle 
length, or any portion thereof, by the basic storage fee; and

(e) For motorcycles, operators may charge the basic storage fee 
for vehicles.

(4) To charge fees for ancillary equipment, additional labor, or 
removal of cargo and commodities that must be offloaded after placed 
in the storage area or registered tow truck operator's place of busi-
ness for the purpose of disposal or storage, the operator must provide 
written notification of such fees to the legal owner, registered owner 
or owner's agent of the vehicle and must make a good faith attempt to 
gain prior authorization for estimated charges.

(a) Notification must include an itemized list of the estimated 
charges for any ancillary equipment, additional labor, or removal of 
cargo and commodities that must be offloaded after placed in the stor-
age area or registered tow truck operator's place of business for the 
purpose of disposal or storage.

(b) Documentation must include:
(i) A copy of the written notification made to the legal owner, 

registered owner, or owner's agent.
(ii) Full name of the individual(s) contacted or attempted to be 

contacted for authorization for completion of additional labor, ancil-
lary equipment, or removal of cargo or commodities for the purpose of 
disposal or storage.
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(iii) The company representing the legal owner, registered owner, 
or owner's agent if applicable.

(iv) Date and time of each contact.
(v) Phone number and any other contact information that was 

available at the time of the contact.
(c) The patrol will provide the insurance information by request 

of the operator, if available.
(5) After hours release fee may be assessed if the tow operator 

or employee must be at the business location specifically for the pur-
pose of releasing the vehicle and/or property on any weekday after 5 
p.m. and before 8 a.m.; Saturday or Sunday; or on any state recognized 
holiday. After hour fees must:

(a) Be based on a flat, hourly rate;
(b) Be applied to the resulting net time and, after the first 

hour, must be rounded to the nearest fifteen minutes; and
(c) Be no more than one-half of the class "A" rate.
(6)(a) Any tow operator who charges the general public (i.e., 

private citizens) rates lower than those identified in the contractual 
agreement for the following services must charge the same lower rate 
for similar services performed as a result of patrol initiated calls:

(i) Roadside mechanical service including, but are not limited 
to, fuel transfer, tire and belt changes;

(ii) Disabled vehicle tow/transportation;
(iii) Storage;
(iv) After hours release fees.
(b) The price requirement in subsection (a)(i) through (iii) of 

this section does not apply to unoccupied vehicle situations in which 
the owner/operator has had no prior contact with either the state pa-
trol or the tow operator.

(7) Upon redemption of a vehicle, an additional charge may not be 
assessed for moving or relocating any stored vehicle from inside a tow 
operator's storage yard to the front of the business establishment.

(8) Tolls and ferry fares paid by the tow operator or employee as 
a result of charges attributed to services provided during travel to 
and from a service call while using the shortest reasonable route, may 
be added as a separate line item to the tow bill. Added charges must 
be evidenced by a receipt or highlighted (i.e., "Good to Go" or "Wave 
to Go") on the transaction document and kept in the vehicle transac-
tion file for inspection purposes.
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