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Washington State Patrol 
Vehicle Identification Number Program 

 

The WSP does not inspect unauthorized or abandoned vehicles for ownership in doubt. 
 
Can I sell a vehicle that’s been left abandoned on my property? 
 
By law, you cannot sell a vehicle that has been left on your property.  Your best option is to have a 
registered tow company remove the vehicle. See Abandoned Vehicles.  Once it’s removed by the tow 
company and held in their possession for 120 hours (5 days), the vehicle becomes classified as 
“Abandoned”.  The last registered owner on record is responsible, by law for the cost of removing, 
storing, and disposing of the abandoned vehicle, RCW 46.55.105 
 
Can I claim ownership of an abandoned vehicle on my property? 
 
Yes, you have the following three options to claim a vehicle that was abandoned on your property: 
 

1) Contact your local Department of Licensing representative and follow their procedure for 
obtaining the last owner’s name and address.  Contact the owner and request that they sign the 
vehicle over to you with the title or with an affidavit in lieu of title. 
 

2) Have a registered tow company impound the vehicle (see above) and complete an Abandoned 
Vehicle Report (AVR).  You may then be able purchase the vehicle when it is put up for sale or 
auction.  
 

3) As a last resort, you may petition your local court for ownership. 
 
What is a Junk Vehicle? 
 
According to RCW 46.55.010 a Junk Vehicle means a vehicle meeting at least three of the following 
requirements: 
 

1) Is three years old or older; 
 

2) Is extensively damaged, such damage including but not limited to any of the following: A broken 
window or windshield, or missing wheels, tires, motor, or transmission; 

 
3) Is apparently inoperable; 

 
4) Has an approximate fair market value equal only to the approximate value of the scrap in it 

 
What can I do with a junk vehicle (not owned by me) abandoned on my property? 
 
According to RCW 46.55.230 an authorized law enforcement officer (or other certified official) may 
inspect and authorize the disposal of an abandoned junk vehicle (WSP VIN Officers do not normally 
provide this service.)  Use the Junk Vehicle Affidavit provided by the Washington State Department of 
Licensing to facilitate the removal of a junk vehicle from your property or to claim ownership.  Contact 
your local licensing agent if you intend retitle this vehicle and operate it after completion of repairs. 
 
Your vehicle will not pass inspection if the Junk Vehicle Affidavit is not fully completed or if the 
vehicle does not meet the requirements listed above. 
 

http://www.dol.wa.gov/vehicleregistration/abandoned.html
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.55.105
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.55.010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.55.230
http://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/420549.pdf

