District 4 · Frequently Asked Questions
If you do not find the answer you need, please check the State Patrol’s main FAQ page. If you still cannot find an answer, write to us at:
Washington State Patrol
Some questions may take ten business
days to answer.
When are studded tires legal to use and can they substitute for chains?
Studded tires are approved for use from November 1 to March 31. The Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) determines additional periods in which they can be used. Studded tires are not allowed on vehicles over 10,000 pounds. Studded tires are not a substitute for chains.
For more information, see our Traction Devices Web page.
What is a "winter traction" tire?
Tires that are labeled snow tire, all-season, all-weather, or studded (must be labeled M&S on the sidewall) qualify so long as they meet the standards set in WAC 204-24-040 Traction Devices. More information is available at the WSP traction tire page.
What is the phone number for road and weather pass conditions?
For Washington state road and travel conditions, you can dial 5-1-1 or our the DOT toll-free number at 1-800-695-7623. You can also go to the DOT travel conditions web page at www.wsdot.wa.gov/traffic.
What is the current seat belt law?
An officer who observes an individual driving a motor vehicle and not wearing their seat belt can stop the individual and take enforcement. For more information on child restraint and seat belt laws, see the Washington Seat Belt Laws on the main WSP FAQs page.
What changes were made to the child restraint law?
Infants are to ride in rear-facing infant seats until they are 1 years old or weigh 20 pounds. Children 1 to 4 years old or weighing 40 pounds are to ride in forward-facing child car seats. Washington law requires a child who is less than 8 years of age or 4'9" tall (which ever comes first) be properly restrained in a child booster seat when both lap and shoulder belts are available.
For more information on child restraint and seat belt laws, see the Washington Seat Belt Laws on the main WSP FAQs page.
Where can I get a booster or child seat checked for proper installation?
Free child car seat checks are held in the area you live. To find a time and location for the next car seat check, call the Washington Safety Restraint Coalition at 1-800-BUCK-L-UP.
If I have a doctor's letter stating I am physically unable to wear a seat belt, will I get a ticket?
An occupant of a vehicle who has in their possession written verification from a physician indicating the individual is unable to wear a safety belt due to physical or medical reasons is exempt and will not receive a ticket.
How can I get criminal history on an individual?
You can obtain criminal histories from the State Patrol in two ways:
Who do I call about information on commercial vehicles and operations?
For information concerning commercial vehicles and operations, you can call or contact the Spokane Port of Entry at RR1 Westbound I-90, Milepost 299, Liberty Lake (509) 226-3366.
You can also find information on our Commercial Vehicle Enforcement page.
Where can I find the laws of the State of Washington on the Internet?
You can access the laws of the State of Washington (Revised Code of Washington) by going to: www.leg.wa.gov/LawsAndAgencyRules/