skip to left menu
skip to main content

 

Publications · Collision Records Section

The Washington State Patrol Collision Records Section is the repository for the states collision records. We receive all Vehicle Collision Reports from law enforcement officers of the state, county, city, town, or other political subdivision along with civilians that report their own collision. These reports are written for each vehicle collision resulting in injury or death of any person, or damage to the property of any one person to an apparent extent of $700 or more. We also receive thousands of requests annually for copies of Vehicle traffic collision reports.

If you need further information about how to obtain a collision report or help with the WRECR application refer to the drop down boxes below.
Each of the following boxes will open and provide further information or additional boxes to select from:

Collision Records Office Hours

Current business hours for the Collision Records Section are 7:00am to 4:00pm Monday through Friday except for holidays. The kiosk to access reports via the Washington Requests for Electronic Collision Reports (WRECR) is available in the front lobby during building operations.

Cash Policy: Collision Records does not maintain a cash drawer. Please bring exact change if you intend to purchase a report at the Collision Records Section office.

Contact Information:

Collision Records Section
7345 Linderson Way SW, 1st Floor
Tumwater, WA 98501-6504
Phone: (360) 570-2355
FAX: (360) 570-2500
Email address: collisionrecords@wsp.wa.gov

Requesting A Collision Report

Collision Records FAQ's

WRECR Application YouTube Tutorial

Online Requests:

The Washington State Patrol Requests for Electronic Collision Records (WRECR) will allow you to search for a collision report from a computer station with internet access and an e-mail account.

How to use WRECR:

More than one collision report can be requested by an individual. Provide the name of the involved party(s), the date of the collision, and select “Search”. If a report is found matching your request; it will be displayed. If the report displayed is your report and you wish to obtain a copy, a fee of $9.50 will be charged per Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 46.52.085. You will need to walk through some identification and processing steps to complete your transaction. Once complete; select “Continue” or “next” to finish the request. There are several possible responses that you may receive:

  1. A single collision that provides you a collision number, date of collision, and your name
  2. Several collisions may be listed and you will need to select the icon to view the party names involved to identify your collision
  3. Report not found: this indicates we have not received the report from the investigating agency. Search this site daily until the report is located.

The minimum requirement for a report to be submitted to the repository is a vehicle collision resulting in injury or death of any person, or damage to the property of any one person to an apparent extent of $700 or more.

Once the officer/citizen submits the completed report, Collision Records scans and processes it into the State repository. It may take up to a total of 2-4 weeks before the report is available for request. As the collision reporting becomes more and more electronic, this processing time will greatly diminish.

Those individuals who are entitled parties will receive a non-redacted copy of the record per the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 46.52.083 and 46.52.080.

Those individuals or agencies that do not meet the definition of entitled parties will be provided a redacted copy of the collision report per (RCW) 42.56 Public Records Act.

Please contact Collision Records Section at: (360) 570-2355 if you have questions.

To request your Collision Report by mail

The fee is $ 9.50. This fee is nonrefundable and covers the cost of the collision record.

To request a copy of a collision report, complete the Request for Copy of Collision ReportAdobe PDF document form, then print it and mail it along with the $9.50 fee to:

Washington State Patrol
Collision Records Request Section
PO Box 47382
Olympia, WA 98504-7382

An individual or agency can request a collision report from the Collision Records Section.

Once the officer submits the completed report Collision Records scans and processes it into the database. It may take up to a total of 2-4 weeks before the report is available for request online or in person at the Collision Records Office in Tumwater. WSP District and Detachment Offices do not have the ability to disclose the report. Please take this into consideration when requesting the collision report.

Those individuals who are entitled parties will receive a non-redacted copy of the record per the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) listed below.

Those individuals or agencies that do not meet the definition of entitled parties will be provided a redacted copy of the collision report per (RCW) 42.56 Public Records Act.

Please contact Collision Records Section at: (360) 570-2355, if you have questions.

Additional Revised Code of Washington Information

  • RCW 46.52.085 Confidentiality of reports - fee for written information
  • RCW 46.52.083 Confidentiality of reports – Availability of factual data to interested parties
  • RCW 46.52.080 Confidentiality of reports- Information required to be disclosed - Evidence
  • RCW 42.56 Public Records Act

To assist you to understand the side coding on the report please print or save this Overlay Sheet Adobe PDF document to your desktop.

Citizens Reports

To complete a citizen collision report please access the below MVCR FORM if an officer does not investigate the collision at the scene. It is the citizens responsibility to complete, print, and mail the form to WSP per instructions attached to the form, this is per RCW 46.52.030.

MVCR Forms

Citizen's Report Empowered Adobe PDF file form in Adobe Acrobat format - You will be able to type on this report. However, you must print it upon comletion and mail it to WSP. Please keep a copy for your records.

Citizen's ReportAdobe PDF document Citizen's report, non-empowered - You will not be able to type directly onto this report. It must be printed and then complete the report and mail it to WSP. Please keep a copy for your records.

How to Complete a Collision Report

How to Fill Out Your Own Collision ReportPDF logo - To navigate between the form and the training you must open two tabs. One tab should show the form. The additional tab will allow you to toggle back and forth and refer to the training as needed.

Once you mail in your collision report, WSP will generate a unique collision report number. If you wish to receive a notification of your unique collision number; please provide a separate note attached to your report with your phone number or email. The Collision Records Section will call you back or email you with the number.

If you have questions regarding this training or other forms, please contact the WSP Collision Records Section at (360) 570-2355, or email collisionrecords@wsp.wa.gov.

If you experience difficulty downloading this form, please update your Adobe Reader to the latest version.

Law Enforcement Resources

For the Police Traffic Collision Report Overlay, see the: Overlay Sheet Adobe PDF document.

The Overlay Sheet is used to interpret the codes written on the Police Traffic Collision Report. Place the Overlay on top of the report with the numbers on the sides matching the report side numbers. Compare the codes to the meaning opposite the arrow for Driver 1. If you have questions concerning the overlay sheet contact the Collision Records Section at (360) 570-2355.

Law Enforcement Agency (LEA) Only

WSP Law Enforcement Agency Collision Database Query Tool

The LEA Database was created to store collision report data as submitted by the law enforcement officer. No analysis or quality assurance has been performed on the data in this database. This database contains collision report data beginning from November 14, 2013 forward. For older data requests, please refer to the Collision Records email: collisionrecords@wsp.wa.gov.

To request access please print the LEA User ApplicationAdobe PDF document, complete this form, and send to collisionrecords@wsp.wa.gov for your access to the above database.

For instructions on how to use the Collision Database Query Tool click here.

PTCR Order Forms

To order any of the Police Traffic Collision Reporting forms, please complete the PTCR Order Form in MS Word Microsoft Word Icon or PDF formatAdobe PDF document.

Manual and Training

For the Police Traffic Collision Reporting Manual see the PTCR ManualAdobe PDF document. This manual is designed to assist police officers in completing reports on vehicle collisions required by the laws of Washington. Questions concerning this manual should be directed to the Collision Records Section at 360) 570-2355.

For the Police Traffic Collision Report Form Training Section, please see the documents and video below:

Additional Report Information / Public Records Request

To request copies of photos, witness statements officer’s notes, or any other records involving a collision or traffic incident, please send a written request to the district office for the county where the incident occurred. Refer to the drop down boxes below for further instructions and contact information:

Public Records Requests

For information on obtaining other records not relating to a traffic incident, please see:

District Information & Office Locations:

For more information on each district, please click an area on the map or one of the District links below.

District Map District 8 - Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Pacific, Wahkiakum District 7 - Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, and Whatcom Counties District 2 - King County District 6 - Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Kittitas, and Okanogan Counties District 4 - Adams, Ferry, Lincoln, Pend Orielle, Spokane, Stevens, and Whitman Counties Disrict 5 - Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis, Klickitat, and Skamania Counties District 1 - Pierce, Thurston Counties District 3 - Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield, Walla Walla, and Yakima
  • District 1 - Pierce and Thurston Counties
  • District 2 - King County
  • District 3 - Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield, Walla Walla, and Yakima
  • District 4 - Adams, Ferry, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, and Whitman Counties
  • District 5 - Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis, Klickitat, and Skamania Counties
  • District 6 - Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Kittitas, and Okanogan Counties
  • District 7 - Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, and Whatcom Counties
  • District 8 - Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Pacific, and Wahkiakum Counties

Driver's Record Information

If you have a question about your driving record you may refer to the Washington State Department of Licensing web page below:

Requests for Collision Data

Anyone can request collision data. Refer to the agency links listed below:



Adobe Reader Link Icon Please note that some of the documents provided on this page are available in Adobe® PDF format only and will require the Adobe® Reader in order to view or print them from your Web browser.

Back to Top