Captain Monica Alexander
Government and Media Relations
(360) 596-4010 – office
(360) 596-4015 – fax

*** For Immediate Release***

Date: May 11, 2017
Contact: Trooper Brian Moore
Phone: (509) 682-8090
Twitter: @wspd6pio

2016 Trooper of the Year -- Trooper John Bryant

Ellensburg -- The Washington State Patrol (WSP) is proud to announce the 2016 District 6 Trooper of the Year, Trooper John Bryant of Ellensburg. Trooper Bryant was nominated as the District 6 Trooper of The Year by Sergeant Bart Olson and was unanimously selected by the District Awards Committee. District 6 serves Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas, Kittitas and Grant Counties.

"It is a privilege to recognize the important value and work ethic of Trooper John Bryant in his commitment towards public safety" said District 6 Commander, Captain Rob Huss.

Trooper Bryant embraces the WSP's Mission, Vision, Values and Goals as his own. He supports the agency goal of Target Zero, which aims to reduce the number of fatality and serious injury collisions to zero by 2030. He helped organize and participated in traffic safety emphases throughout Kittitas Co. Trooper Bryant has an exceptional work ethic and was a leader within Kittitas Co. for DUI arrests, speed contacts, aggressive driver contacts and seatbelt enforcement. He also led Kittitas Co. for collisions investigated in 2016. Trooper Bryant excelled at enforcing criminal violations, nearly doubling the individual average for Kittitas Co. He is one of the backup Public Information Officers and Recruiter for District 6.

Trooper Bryant was hired by the WSP in August, 2008, and commissioned in March, 2011. Trooper Bryant continues to exemplify the qualities and characteristics the State Patrol prides itself on. He is a mentor within his community and dedicates his time to Kittitas County 4-H. He is a Boy Scout Merit Badge Counselor and spends his time mentoring young kids.  He also assists with posting US flags around Ellensburg during Federal holidays.

Congratulations to Trooper John Bryant for being selected as the Washington State Patrol's District 6 Trooper of the Year.