Captain Monica Alexander
Government and Media Relations
(360) 596-4010 – office
(360) 596-4015 – fax

*** For Immediate Release***

Date: May 11, 2017
Contact: Trooper Brian Moore
Phone: (509) 682-8090
Twitter: @wspd6pio

2016 District 6 Detachment of the Year – Moses Lake

Moses Lake -- Washington State Patrol's Moses Lake Detachment 3 wins 2016 District 6 Detachment of the Year for their strong efforts towards reducing fatality collisions, injury collisions and their overall performance throughout 2016. The detachment's teamwork and commitment to both district and agency goals were clearly evident as they achieved high levels of performance.

The Detachment is led by Sergeant Marcus Smith and with his support and leadership the detachment analyzed data throughout their patrol area and strategically placed resources to proactively support Target Zero, which aims to have zero fatality or serious injury collisions by 2030.

Detachment 3 partnered with Columbia Basin Traffic Safety Task Force, Moses Lake Police Department and the Grant County Sheriff's Office to conduct joint traffic safety emphases to focus on DUI, speed, distracted driving and occupant restraint enforcement.

Detachment 3 is a highly accomplished and diverse group of individual troopers that make up an elite detachment.

Detachment Members:

  • Sergeant Marcus Smith #148
  • Trooper Spike Unruh #970
  • Trooper Sage Schafer #1193
  • Trooper Chris Kottong #680
  • Trooper Jeremy Weber #1100
  • Trooper Aaron Norton #697 (transferred to Spokane on Nov. 1, 2016)
  • Trooper Benjamin Borgman #429
  • Trooper David Munoz #590 (transferred to Yakima on Aug. 1, 2016)
  • Trooper Connor Paysse #555

  • The two Moses Lake Detachments cover all of Grant County and portions of Douglas, Okanogan and Adams Counties.