Captain Monica Alexander
Government and Media Relations
(360) 596-4010 – office
(360) 596-4015 – fax

*** For Immediate Release***

Date: April 26, 2017
Contact: Sergeant Kent Hitchings
Phone: (360) 432-7503
Twitter: @wastatepatrol

49 Washington State Patrol Troopers Sworn In

At a ceremony held in the Capitol Rotunda this afternoon, 49 Washington State Patrol (WSP) troopers were sworn in by the Associate Chief Justice of the Washington State Supreme Court Mary E. Fairhurst.  They were presented their commission cards by Governor Jay Inslee and Chief John R. Batiste, who welcomed them into an organization known and trusted by the citizens of Washington State.

After completing over 1,000 hours of training, these men and women will join Washington's premier law enforcement organization.  The Washington State Patrol Academy produces approximately three cadet classes each biennium, which accounts for about 100 to 120 new troopers.  Historically, only about four to six percent of the total number of applicants makes the grade to become WSP troopers.

"The 49 cadets graduating today endured a rigorous application process, extensive background investigation, and received the best training, unmatched anywhere else in the nation," said Chief John Batiste. "Today, they will join the ranks of Washington's finest, as troopers of the Washington State Patrol."

A tradition that began 96 years ago on June 21, 1921, when six brave men kick-started their Indian motorcycles, strapped on an arm band, and started a proud tradition known today as the Washington State Patrol.  The tradition continues to this day with the graduation of the 107th Trooper Basic Training Class at the Capitol Rotunda, signaled by the stream of shiny white patrol vehicles parked in the lanes leading up to the Capitol steps.

During the ceremony, the Core Values Award was presented to:
Trooper Christopher T. Huhta. This award is presented to the trooper cadet who most typifies the Training Division Core Values which include: strong leadership, effective partnerships, professional excellence, acting with integrity and accountability, respecting and protecting individual rights, and earning the trust and confidence of the public.  The recipient of this award was determined by an anonymous vote of his classmates, and is sponsored by the Washington State Patrol Memorial Foundation.  This award honors the most recent State Patrol employee to give his life in service to the citizens of the state of Washington.  Trooper Brent L. Hanger died in the line of duty on August 6, 2015.  The award was presented today in Trooper Hanger's honor by his wife, Lisa Hanger.

In addition to this award, Chief Batiste presented six trooper cadets with awards at a ceremony held on April 25, 2017, during an open house at the WSP Academy.  These awards included:

Top Driving Award
Presented to Trooper Brent P. Ashton; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency with respect to driving skills and techniques, decision-making and mind-set, and steady and constant improvement through each phase of drivers training.

Top Firearms Award
Presented to Trooper Nathaniel R. Dawson; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency with all weapon systems, marksmanship scores and skills, and demonstration of sound judgment during practical encounter scenarios.

Top Physical Fitness/Top Control Tactics AwardPresented to Trooper Jacob C. Pont; this award recognizes the highest level of drive and tenacity in physical fitness testing and training.  The recipient of this award consistently performed at the top of the Trooper Basic Training Class during physical training.  In addition, this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency in control tactics techniques, to include self-defense, handcuffing, searching and use of force thought process.

Top Academic Award

Presented to Trooper Brent P. Ashton; this award recognizes the outstanding efforts of the cadet who attains the highest grade point average compiled from over 30 tests and quizzes during training.  The class average GPA for the 107th Trooper Basic Training Class was 90%; Trooper Ashton's GPA was an impressive 95%.

Top Collision Investigation Award
Presented to Trooper Bryce C. Schramm; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency regarding collision investigation, including mathematical computation, scene investigation, information and evidence gathering, report writing, and teamwork.

Top Overall Cadet Award
Presented to Trooper Christopher T. Huhta; this award recognizes the trooper cadet who demonstrated great courage to overcome obstacles, unwavering dedication to stay focused on reaching their goals, and their ability to give 100% in every aspect of their training.  Trooper Huhta demonstrated the necessary skills, abilities, and judgment to be an excellent trooper, and made extra efforts to continuously make improvements.

  Name Number Final Assignment Home Town
1. Anderson, Clayton A. 848 District 7 Burlington Chewelah, WA
2. Ashton, Brent P. 1236 District 7 Oak Harbor Spanaway, WA
3. Benavidez, Michael 1021 District 3 Grandview Pasco, WA
4. Berg, Phillip A. 447 District 7 Bellingham Tumwater, WA
5. Brici, Iosif 434 District 7 Monroe Vancouver, WA
6. Brockman, Nicholas 714 District 7 Marysville Reardan, WA
7. Canham, Michael S. 437 District 8 Naselle Vancouver, WA
8. Conrad, Jacobe A. 910 District 8 Naselle Cathlamet, WA
9. Cumaravel, Collin J. 738 District 6 Basin Moses Lake, WA
10. Dattilo, John D. 370 District 1 Tacoma Eatonville, WA
11. Dawson, Nathaniel R. 930 District 3 Grandview Kennewick, WA
12. DeHart, Chelsea 500 District 2 Bellevue Chehalis, WA
13. Draper, Boston N.C. 933 District 2 Bellevue Tualatin, OR
14. Edwards, Nicholas D. 407 District 7 Monroe Lacey, WA
15. Ellis, D'Anthony J. 372 District 2 Bellevue Tacoma, WA
16. Franzmann, David M. 1195 District 8 Hoquiam Olympia, WA
17. Gagnon, Robert L. 906 District 2 Bellevue Coeur d'Alene, ID
18. Glahn, William R. 806 District 7 Monroe Battle Ground, WA
19. Gold, Tyler D. 412 District 2 Bellevue Spokane, WA
20. Harms, Thomas J. 692 District 2 Bellevue Issaquah, WA
21. Hayes, Cale J. 809 District 7 Burlington Stanwood, WA
22. Hires, Brayson H. 1223 District 7 Monroe Tonasket, WA
23. Huhta, Christopher T 454 District 8 Naselle Kelso, WA
24. Isaac, Jeffrey T. 513 District 6 Okanogan Deer Park, WA
25. Jacobsen, Kyle C. 461 District 7 Marysville Stanwood, WA
26. Jenkins, David W. 419 District 1 Tacoma Tenino, WA
27. Kennett, Jacob D. 443 District 8 Forks Spokane Valley, WA
28. Kukes, James A. 399 District 6 Basin Kittitas, WA
29. Leishman, Angie 410 District 1 Tacoma Yelm, WA
30. Loos, Trevor S. 1213 District 6 Ellensburg Yakima, WA
31. Mawa, Charles D. 968 District 7 Monroe Everett, WA
32. Megargle, Thomas J. 660 District 8 Hoquiam Bremerton, WA
33. Pont, Jacob C. 1159 District 5 Goldendale Vancouver, WA
34. Pratt, Cody S. 1189 District 8 Shelton Bremerton, WA
35. Ray, Walt W. 1243 District 2 Bellevue Maple Valley, WA
36. Reese, Anthony K. 564 District 2 Bellevue Everson, WA
37. Reyer, Robert 1176 District 2 Bellevue Tacoma, WA
38. Schramm, Bryce C. 1115 District 2 Bellevue Tacoma, WA
39. Spaude, Steven A. 955 District 7 Burlington Vancouver, WA
40. Sporleder, Eyzik G. 1248 District 1 Tacoma Tumwater, WA
41. Standiford, Loren J. 937 District 2 Bellevue Vancouver, WA
42. Story, Tyler J. 787 District 3 Grandview Yakima, WA
43. Straus, Derek A. 1004 District 2 Bellevue Kent, WA
44. Thomson, Kevin V. 824 District 2 Bellevue Ellensburg, WA
45. Tippets, Evan M. 1249 District 7 Burlington Vancouver, WA
46. Tyler, Jonathan D. 830 District 2 Bellevue Buckley, WA
47. Washington, Nolan L. 1225 District 2 Bellevue Renton, WA
48. Wilcox, Jennifer L. 459 District 7 Burlington Stanwood, WA
49. Wirtz, Steven O. 916 District 2 Bellevue Spokane, WA