Captain Monica Alexander
Government and Media Relations
(360) 596-4010 – office
(360) 596-4015 – fax
*** For Immediate Release***
Drowsy Driving Prevention Week
Olympia – The Washington State Patrol strives to reduce traffic fatalities and serious injury collisions on our roadways. Drowsy driving is a form of impaired driving that negatively affects one’s ability to drive safely and responsibly.
Governor Jay Inslee proclaimed November 6-13, 2016 as Drowsy Driving Prevention Week to bring awareness to the dangers of drowsy driving and its prevention.
Nationwide, drowsy driving causes more than 100,000 crashes a year with 40,000 injuries and 1,550 fatalities. In Washington State from 2011 through 2015 there were 64 fatal collisions and 308 serious injury collisions investigated where a drowsy driver was involved.
“Drowsy driving is as dangerous as getting behind the wheel while under the influence,” said Chief John Batiste, Washington State Patrol. “A simple awareness by drivers can prevent them from getting behind the wheel tired and taking a life.”
Drowsy driving is not only dangerous it’s illegal. If you fall asleep at the wheel you could receive a Negligent Driving ticket which carries a $550 fine.
Here are some simple tips for staying awake behind the wheel:
- Get a good night’s sleep before hitting the road
- Don’t be too rushed to arrive at your destination
- Take a break every two hours or 100 miles to refresh
- Use the buddy system to keep you awake and share driving chores
- Avoid alcohol, drugs and medications that cause drowsiness as a side effect
- Avoid driving when you would normally be sleeping
To see Governor Jay Inslee’s Proclamation on Drowsy Driving click on this link.