Captain Monica Alexander
Government and Media Relations
(360) 596-4010 – office
(360) 596-4015 – fax

*** For Immediate Release***

Date: November 19, 2015
Contact: Sergeant Kent Hitchings
Phone: (360) 432-7503
Twitter: @wastatepatrol

25 Washington State Patrol Troopers Sworn In

At a ceremony held in the Capitol Rotunda this afternoon, 25 Washington State Patrol (WSP) troopers were sworn in by the Associate Chief Justice of the Washington State Supreme Court Charles W. Johnson and were presented their commission cards by Governor Jay Inslee and Chief John R. Batiste, who welcomed them into an organization known and trusted by the citizens of Washington State.

After completing over 1,000 hours of training, these men and women will join Washington's premier law enforcement organization. The Washington State Patrol Academy produces approximately three cadet classes each biennium, which accounts for about 100 to 120 new troopers. Historically, only about four to six percent of the total number of applicants makes the grade to become WSP troopers.

"The 25 cadets graduating today endured a rigorous application process, extensive background investigation, and received the best training, unmatched anywhere else in the nation," said Chief John Batiste. "Today, they will join the ranks of Washington's finest, as troopers of the Washington State Patrol."

A tradition that began 93 years ago on June 21, 1921, when six brave men kick-started their Indian motorcycles, strapped on an arm band, and started a proud tradition known today as the Washington State Patrol. The tradition continues to this day with the graduation of the 105th Trooper Basic Training Class at the Capitol Rotunda, signaled by the stream of shiny white SUV patrol vehicles parked in the lanes leading up to the Capitol steps.

During the ceremony, the Core Values Award was presented to Trooper Carlos N. Mata. This award is presented to the trooper cadet who most typifies the Training Division Core Values which include: strong leadership, effective partnerships, professional excellence, acting with integrity and accountability, respecting and protecting individual rights, and earning the trust and confidence of the public. The recipient of this award was determined by an anonymous vote of his classmates, and is sponsored by the Washington State Patrol Memorial Foundation. This award honors the most recent State Patrol employee to give his life in service to the citizens of the state of Washington. Trooper Brent L. Hanger died in the line of duty on August 6, 2015. The award was presented today in Trooper Hanger's honor by his wife Lisa Hanger.

In addition to this award, Chief Batiste presented six trooper cadets with awards at a ceremony held on November 18, 2015, during an open house at the WSP Academy. These awards included:

Top Driving Award

Presented to Trooper Carlos N. Mata; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency with respect to driving skills and techniques, decision-making and mind-set, and steady and constant improvement through each phase of drivers training.

Top Firearms Award

Presented to Trooper Joshua S. Bacheller; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency with all weapon systems, marksmanship scores and skills, and demonstration of sound judgment during practical encounter scenarios.

Top Fitness Award

Presented to Trooper Joshua S. Bacheller; this award recognizes the highest level of drive and tenacity in physical fitness testing and training. The recipient of this award consistently performed at the top of the Trooper Basic Training Class during physical training.

Top Academic Award

Presented to Trooper Michael S. Hilt; this award recognizes the outstanding efforts of the cadet who attains the highest grade point average compiled from over 30 tests and quizzes during training. The class average GPA for the 105th Trooper Basic Training Class was 87%; Trooper Hilt's GPA was an impressive 93%.

Top Collision Investigation Award

Presented to Trooper Timothy M. Hopper; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency regarding collision investigation, including mathematical computation, scene investigation, information and evidence gathering, report writing, and teamwork.

Top Control Tactics Award

Presented to Trooper David Munoz; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency in control tactics techniques, to include self-defense, handcuffing, searching and use of force thought process.

Top Overall Cadet Award

Presented to Trooper Carlos N. Mata; this award recognizes the trooper cadet who demonstrated great courage to overcome obstacles, unwavering dedication to stay focused on reaching their goals, and their ability to give 100% in every aspect of their training. Trooper Mata demonstrated the necessary skills, abilities, and judgment to be an excellent trooper, and made extra efforts to continuously make improvements.

  Name Number District 7 Monroe Home Town
1    Allen, Nicholas J. 1006      District 7 Monroe    Benton City, WA
2   Bacheller, Joshua S. 1002      District 7 Monroe    Spokane, WA
3   Binion, Breanna L. 1000      District 7 Monroe    Monroe, WA
4   Black, Aleksander D. 993    District 8 Forks    Spokane, WA
5   Bulley, Richard P. 992    District 8 Hoquiam    Elma, WA
6   Chase, Steven T. 981    District 2 Bellevue    Puyallup, WA
7   Gallenger, Dean L. 904    District 5 Goldendale    Yakima, WA
8   Heck, Matthew D. 879    District 7 Monroe    Maryville, WA
9   Hilt, Michael S. 850    District 7 Marysville    Sioux Center IA
10   Hopper, Timothy M. 761    District 8 Shelton    Waxhaw, NC
11   Jones, Seth C. 501    District 8 Port Townsend    Tumwater, WA
12   Lindemann, Kyle M. 702    District 8 Naselle    Vancouver, WA
13   Mata, Carlos N. 700    District 3 Grandview    Mattawa, WA
14   Munoz, Daniel 635    District 6 Basin    Yakima, WA
15   Munoz, David 590     District 6 Basin    Yakima, WA
16   Parham, Matthew S 529    District 8 Port Townsend    Kennewick, WA
17   Powers, Abigayle A. 521    District 7 Maryville    Sequim, WA
18   Schob, Jessica E. 492    District 7 Maryville    Ione, CA
19   Simmons, Douglas A. 468    District 2 Bellevue    Snoqualmie, WA
20   Smith, Nicholas 384    District 1 Tacoma    Oregon, IL
21   Stell, Christopher H. 377    District 8 Naselle    Tacoma, WA
22   Stombaugh, Kyle J. 375    District 1 Olympia    Puyallup, WA
23   Timchak, Daniel R. 358    District 2 Bellevue    Bothell, WA
24   Wallace, Jeffrey A. 352    District 5 Chehalis    Vancouver, WA
25    Yarbrough, C. Kyle 301   District 2 Bellevue   Tallahassee, FL