Office of the State Fire Marshal

State Fire Marshal Charles M. Duffy

Captain Monica Alexander
Government and Media Relations
(360) 596-4010 – office
(360) 596-4015 – fax

*** For Immediate Release***

Date: June 18, 2015
Contact: Deputy State Fire Marshal Lysandra Davis
Phone: (360) 596-3929
Twitter: @wafiremarshal

Number of Retail Fireworks Stand Licenses Issued Up 7% in 2015

State Fire Marshal Charles M. Duffy announced today that the number of retail fireworks stand licenses issued in 2015 was up 7%, or 65 licenses, from last year. A state license is required before a city or county can issue a permit to operate a fireworks stand in Washington.

Licenses are issued by County; with King County seeing the largest increase in retail fireworks stand licenses issued with fifteen; followed by Clark and Pierce County, eleven; and Grays Harbor County, six.

Sale of consumer fireworks begins June 28, 2015, at noon and ends on July 5, 2015, at 9:00 pm. A number of city and counties have restricted or banned the sale and discharge of fireworks. Always be sure to check with your local jurisdiction before using fireworks.

Attending a public display is a safe and fun way to enjoy fireworks. To learn about a community fireworks display near you, visit our website at

For more information contact your local fire department, or call the Office of the State Fire Marshal at (360) 596-3946.

The Office of the State Fire Marshal is a Bureau of the Washington State Patrol, providing fire and life safety services to the citizens
of Washington State including inspections of state licensed facilities, plan review of school construction projects, licensing of fire
sprinkler contractors and pyrotechnic operators, training Washington States firefighters, and collecting emergency response data.


Prevent Fires Logo