Close

Distracted Driving

In 2017, Washington State passed the Driving Under the Influence of Electronics Act. Distracted driving is a serious concern when it comes to traffic safety. As part of our Target Zero goal – which strives to end traffic deaths and serious injuries in Washington by 2030 – troopers are on the lookout for distracted drivers every day. For more information, please visit Target Zero’s distracted driving webpage.

If you believe someone is driving under the influence, please immediately call 9-1-1.

What’s Allowed

What is allowed

Hands-free use like Bluetooth. You are also allowed a single touch to start a function. Rule of thumb, start GPS, music, etc. before you start driving

 

What isn’t allowed

Drivers may not use hand-held cell phones while they are driving, stopped in traffic, or at a stop light. However, these do not apply if you are contacting emergency services.

Penalties

• The first ticket will cost at least $136
• If you get another ticket within five years, that will cost you at least $234
• You can also get a $99 ticket for other types of distractions such as grooming, smoking, eating, or reading if the activity interferes with safe driving and you are pulled over for another traffic offense
• Not to mention, cell phone violations are report to insurance companies