Fuel Tax Evasion

Washington State imposes a motor fuel (gasoline) and special fuel (diesel) tax regulated under RCW 82.36 and 82.38. Any person who engages in activities with the intent to evade taxes imposed under these chapters is guilty of a felony. The state loses an estimated $15 to $30 million per year from fuel tax evasion; money which could be available for a variety of transportation uses, such as road construction and maintenance.

Examples of fuel tax evasion are, but not limited to:

  • Importing fuel from other jurisdictions without remitting the appropriate Washington State taxes
  • Blending taxable fuel with an untaxed product to increase volume
  • Using dyed (untaxed) fuel in a licensed vehicle

Public awareness and involvement are essential in eliminating fuel tax evasion. A fuel tax evasion unit, comprised of personnel from the Washington State Patrol and the Department of Licensing, works to educate the public and industry, and to investigate suspected evasion and enforce the fuel tax laws.

To report fuel tax evasion, contact the Washington State Patrol and Department of Licensing’s Fuel Task Force at any of the addresses listed below. You may remain anonymous. If you leave your name and number, an investigator will call you back. All information given will be investigated and remain confidential.

Call 1-800-497-FUEL (1-800-497-3835)

Write to the WSP/DOL Fuel Tax Evasion Unit at,
or to their post office address:


CVD – Fuel Tax Evasion Unit
Washington State Patrol
PO Box 42614
Olympia, WA 98504-2614